Drake and Glorilla Lead Nominations, Followed by 21 Savage and Lizzo

    The highly anticipated nomination list for the upcoming BET Awards was revealed to the public on Thursday (June 8), and it comes as no surprise that Drake and GloRilla have emerged as frontrunners. Drake, who dominated the charts last summer with two consecutive hit albums (“Honestly, Nevermind” and the joint project “Her Loss” with 21 Savage), has secured an impressive seven nominations for the 2023 BET Awards, set to take place on June 25 in Los Angeles.

    Among Drake’s seven nominations are categories such as Best Male Hip-Hop Artist, Best Male R&B/Pop Artist, and Best Group alongside 21 Savage. His album “Her Loss” with 21 Savage has also been recognized in the Album of the Year category, among others. This recognition solidifies Drake’s continued influence and impact on the music industry.

    Meanwhile, GloRilla, a talented rapper from Memphis, stands almost neck-to-neck with Drake, receiving an impressive six nominations. GloRilla’s nominations are well-distributed between his solo projects and collaborative efforts. Notable nominations for GloRilla include Best Female Hip-Hop Artist, Best New Artist, Album of the Year for “Anyways, Life’s Great…,” and Video of the Year for his collaboration with Cardi B on “Tomorrow 2.” Last year, GloRilla received the prestigious Best Breakthrough Hip-Hop Artist of the Year award at BET’s Hip-Hop Awards, further solidifying his rising status in the industry.

    Lizzo and 21 Savage follow closely behind, tying for third place with five nominations each. An intriguing development comes with the breakthrough artist Ice Spice, who finds herself in an esteemed company, receiving four nominations, just like Burna Boy, SZA, and the legendary Beyoncé. Notable artists such as Cardi B, Coco Jones, FLO, Future, Jack Harlow, Kendrick Lamar, Maverick City Music, Kirk Franklin, and Tems have also garnered attention with three nominations each.

    As the BET Awards approach, fans eagerly anticipate the outcome of these nominations and the exceptional performances that will grace the stage. It promises to be an unforgettable night celebrating the outstanding talent within the music industry.

    Drake, Glorilla, 21 Savage, Lizzo

    Full list:

    Album of the Year
    Anyways, Life’s Great, GloRilla
    Breezy, Chris Brown
    God Did, DJ Khaled
    Her Loss, Drake & 21 Savage
    Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers, Kendrick Lamar
    Renaissance, Beyoncé
    SOS, SZA

    Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
    Ari Lennox
    Coco Jones

    Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
    Brent Faiyaz
    Burna Boy
    Chris Brown
    The Weeknd

    Best Group
    City Girls
    Drake & 21 Savage
    Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin
    Quavo & Takeoff

    Best Collaboration
    “Big Energy (Remix),” Latto & Mariah Carey feat. DJ Khaled
    “Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice
    “Call Me Every Day,” Chris Brown feat. Wizkid
    “Can’t Stop Won’t Stop,” King Combs feat. Kodak Black
    “Creepin’,” Metro Boomin, The Weeknd & 21 Savage
    “F.N.F. (Let’s Go),” Hitkidd & GloRilla
    “Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B
    “Wait For U,” Future feat. Drake & Tems

    Best Female Hip Hop Artist   
    Cardi B
    Coi Leray
    Ice Spice
    Megan Thee Stallion
    Nicki Minaj

    Best Male Hip Hop Artist
    21 Savage
    J. Cole
    Jack Harlow
    Kendrick Lamar
    Lil Baby

    Video of the Year
    “We (Warm Embrace),” Chris Brown
    “2 Million Up,” Peezy, Jeezy & Real Boston Richey feat. Rob49
    “About Damn Time,” Lizzo
    “Bad Habit,” Steve Lacy
    “First Class,” Harlow
    “Kill Bill,” SZA
    “Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B

    Video Director of the Year
    A$AP Rocky for AWGE
    Benny Boom
    Burna Boy
    Cole Bennett
    Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar
    Director X
    Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor

    Best New Artist
    Coco Jones
    Ice Spice
    Lola Brooke

    Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
    “Bless Me,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin
    “Finished (Live),” Tamela Mann
    “I’ve Got Joy,” CeCe Winans
    “Kingdom,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin feat. Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore
    “New,” Tye Tribbett
    “One Moment From Glory,” Yolanda Adams
    “The Better Benediction (Pt.2),” PJ Morton feat. Lisa Knowles-Smith, Le’andria Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Kierra Sheard & Tasha Cobbs Leonard

    Viewer’s Choice Award
    “About Damn Time,” Lizzo
    “Break My Soul,” Beyoncé
    “First Class,” Jack Harlow
    “Jimmy Cooks,” Drake feat 21 Savage
    “Kill Bill,” SZA
    “Last Last,” Burna Boy
    “Super Freaky Girl,” Nicki Minaj
    “Wait For U,” Future feat. Drake & Tems

    Best International Act
    Aya Nakamura (France)
    Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
    Burna Boy (Nigeria)
    Central Cee (UK)
    Ella Mai (UK)
    Ko (South Africa)
    L7nnon (Brazil)
    Stormzy (UK)
    Tiakola (France)
    Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)

    Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act
    Asake (Nigeria)
    Camidoh (Ghana)
    Flo (UK)
    Libianca (Cameroon)
    Maureen (France)
    MC Ryan SP (Brazil)
    Pabi Cooper (South Africa)
    Raye (UK)
    Werenoi (France)

    BET Her
    “About Damn Time,” Lizzo
    “Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice
    “Break My Soul,” Beyoncé
    “Her,” Megan Thee Stallion
    “Lift Me Up,” Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From And Inspired By – Rihanna & Ludwig Göransson
    “Players,” Coi Leray
    “Special,” Lizzo

    Best Movie
    Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
    Creed 3
    The Woman King
    Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance With Somebody

    Best Actor
    Amin Joseph
    Brian Tyree Henry
    Damson Idris
    Daniel Kaluuya
    Demetrius ‘Lil Meech’ Flenory Jr.
    Donald Glover
    Michael B. Jordan

    Best Actress
    Angela Bassett
    Coco Jones
    Janelle James
    Janelle Monáe
    Keke Palmer
    Viola Davis

    Youngstars Award
    Akira Akbar
    Alaya High
    Demi Singleton
    Genesis Denise
    Marsai Martin
    Thaddeus J. Mixson   
    Young Dylan   

    Sportswoman of the Year Award
    Alexis Morris
    Allyson Felix   
    Angel Reese
    Candace Parker
    Naomi Osaka  
    Serena Williams
    Sha’carri Richardson

    Sportsman of the Year Award
    Aaron Judge   
    Bubba Wallace
    Gervonta Davis
    Jalen Hurts
    Lebron James
    Patrick Mahomes
    Stephen Curry

    Be sure to follow @hiphopuntapped for Hip Hop NewsEntertainment , Fashion , & Sports.

    Queen Suigeneris
    Queen Suigeneris
    Based in Philadelphia, Queen Suigeneris is the Lead Writer for HipHopUntapped. She enjoys reading, poetry, and fashion.

    Latest articles

    Html code here! Replace this with any non empty raw html code and that's it.

    Related articles

    Translate »